Silly dolls in the snow!

This is Melinda, and I have to tell you this because it was too funny not to!

It’s been very wintery around here lately–we almost never get snow, but this week we got seven or eight inches. Highly atypical, but exciting nonetheless.

Well, as soon as Samantha and Melody woke up, they started pestering me. They wanted to go outside and play in the snow, because snow, after all, is a treat for them too. But not only did they want to play, they wanted to try dressing up and getting photographed while they were doing so!

I looked at them. “Be serious,” I said. “You’ll freeze to death if all you wear is a pretty dress.”

“But,” Melody protested, “it only snows once in a blue moon, and if you get some good  photographs, you can use them instead of the ones you’ve got now! It’s worth a try, at least!”

I relented. Melody was right–it was worth a try. Gleefully the two dolls slipped into their favorite dresses and waited impatiently as I bundled myself up, grabbed an assistant, and found the batteries to go in the camera. Then we all headed outside.

I carried them out, as I didn’t want their feet to turn blue any earlier than they had to. We found a nice, undisturbed patch of snow and I set Samantha down. She giggled. “Oooh! It’s freezing!”

Samantha in the snow

Melody shook her head. “Of course it’s freezing! That’s why it’s snow and not rain!”

Samantha

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I managed to get these pictures in before Samantha lost her balance (she couldn’t reach the ground, the snow was so deep) and did a textbook faceplant. She emerged, sputtering, from the snow. “Wow!” she exclaimed.

By this point Melody could wait no longer. “My turn!” she cried, and leaped from my arms. She landed in the cushion of snow and began making a snow angel.”See? I’m a snow fairy!” Melody's snow angel 

 

The ‘snow fairy’ did not last long, though. Samantha had made the perfect snowball and it didn’t take long for the snowball to find Melody. Suddenly, a full-fledged snowball fight was raging. It lasted a full two minutes, and I was surprised they weren’t blue with cold when they finally collapsed, panting with delight, in the snow. Dollies in the Snow

“That was so much fun!” said Samantha.

“Yeah,” said Melody. “But man, am I cold!! Can we go inside now?”

So we did. They took off their wet dresses and drank hot cocoa and sat, steaming dry, by the fire.

Will you ever meet two more playful dolls? Thinking that galavanting about in the snow without coats or mittens or scarves is fun! Thank goodness they have strong constitutions, or else they’d have caught quite the cold. Anyway, our little escapade into the Winter Wonderland was a very futile attempt to get good pictures. But, since they got such a blast out of it, it was worth it in the end.  Silly dolls! I love them to bits…

Melinda

Leave a Reply

